Short, sharp shock

Just a quick post to highlight a couple of very good short horror films I’ve seen in the last week or two.  (I’m too busy to do more but I’ll do a bigger round up later)

First up is probably easily the most simple but effective short I saw at the Frightfest over August Bank Holiday weekend.  It’s called He Dies At The End and I think it’s a brilliant example of what you can do with a simple, well executed idea – regardless of the money or resources you can get your hands on.

I met these guys (including writter/producer/director Damian McCarthy) in the bar after FrightFest and they were a little surprised (I think, I was drunk) at the overwhelmingly positive reaction but I wasn’t.

The second is quite different but no less brilliant at executing a simple and effective idea in a very short space of time.  I don’t even know what it’s called of who it’s by (poor research on my part, I’ll update when I’ve got time to look into it) but it’s the trailer for this year’s Raindance Film Festival (1-12 October, London).

Unfortunately, Raindance have (perhaps unintentionally?) not made this available to embed so here’s a link: http://www.raindance.co.uk/site/raindance-independent-film-festival

Really Raindance, sort it the fuck out. You should know better.

Anyway, as I said, no time to go into any more detail on any of this now but I’ll be posting a review of the 2 days I was at FrightFest soon, plus (hopefully) a bigger post on some short/low-budget film stuff.

Leave a Reply

